Home » Ongoing projects » SWIO » Objectives

Objectives

The objective of the project is to estimate the impact of climate change on solar and wind energy resources in the SOOI area, using regional climate simulations at very high spatial resolution (~ 1 km) from the WRF (Weather Research and Forecasting) regional climate model, with a particular focus on the two islands of Reunion and Mauritius.

This research would provide numerical simulation tools that would help to better specify the solar and wind potential of the region’s territories.  This information could be used to better evaluate the evolution of the resource and its management in time and space. It could also be used to develop tools for the management of renewable energy risks (periods of shortage, for example).

The local projections produced by this model are of great interest, in particular for decision-makers and for the actors of the solar and wind energy sectors who are working on the energy independence of Reunion and Mauritius.

Accueil » Projets en cours » SWIO » Objectifs

Objectifs

 

L’objectif du projet est d’estimer l’impact du changement climatique sur les ressources énergétiques solaire et éolienne dans la zone SOOI, par des simulations régionales climatiques à très haute résolution spatiale (~ 1 km) issues du modèle régional de climat WRF (Weather Research and Forecasting), avec un regard tout particulier sur les deux îles que sont La Réunion et Maurice.

Ces recherches permettraient de disposer d’outils de simulation numérique qui aideraient à mieux préciser les potentiels solaire et éolien des territoires de la région.  Ces informations pourraient servir à mieux évaluer l’évolution de la ressource et de sa gestion dans le temps et l’espace. Elles pourraient aussi servir pour l’élaboration d’outils pour la gestion de risques d’énergie renouvelable (périodes de pénurie par exemple).

Les projections locales produites par ce modèle présentent un fort intérêt notamment pour les décideurs et pour les acteurs des filières solaire et éolienne qui travaillent à l’indépendance énergétique de La Réunion et de Maurice.