Home » Ongoing projects » SWIO-Energy » Présentation

Présentation

The SWIO-Energy project (Solar and Wind Energy in the  Indian Ocean) is an innovative regional cooperation project that is part of the current collective effort to adapt to climate change and mitigate its effects in the energy sector.

It involves three structures:

  • The ENERGY-lab / LE2P laboratory, University of La Réunion
  • The Department of Physics, University of Mauritius
  • The Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Laboratory, University of Mascareignes, Mauritius.

This 36-month project, unique to Reunion Island and the South-West Indian Ocean (SOOI), proposes to implement an innovative analytical approach to carry out climate analyses on solar and wind energy variability in the SOOI area, in particular on the islands of Reunion and Mauritius at different time scales: intraday, intra-seasonal, interannual.

The specificities of this project lie in the elaboration and analysis of climate simulations for the future (middle and end of the century) and on a fine spatial scale, which is of great interest especially for the actors working on the energy independence of La Réunion and Mauritius.

Accueil » Projets en cours » SWIO » Présentation

Présentation

Le projet SWIO-Energy (Solar and Wind Energy in the South West Indian Ocean) est un projet innovant de coopération régionale qui s’inscrit dans l’effort collectif actuel en matière d’adaptation au changement climatique et d’intégration de ses effets dans le secteur de l’énergie.

Il implique trois structures :

  • Le laboratoire ENERGY-lab / LE2P, Université de La Réunion
  • Le Département de Physique, University of Mauritius
  • Le laboratoire Énergies Renouvelables et Efficacité Énergétique, Université des Mascareignes, Maurice.

Ce projet, d’une durée de 36 mois, unique à La Réunion et dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Océan Indien (SOOI), propose de mettre en place une approche analytique innovante pour mener des analyses climatiques sur la variabilité du gisement solaire et éolien dans la zone SOOI, en particulier sur les îles de La Réunion et de Maurice à différentes échelles de temps : infra-journalière, intra-saisonnière, interannuelle.

Les spécificités de ce projet résident dans l’élaboration et l’analyse de simulations climatiques pour le futur (milieu et fin du siècle) et à une échelle spatiale fine, ce qui présente un fort intérêt notamment pour les acteurs qui travaillent à l’indépendance énergétique de La Réunion et Maurice.